Aleh Foundation Celebrating Israel at 60

ALEH Foundation Celebrates 28 Year Milestone At Gala Dinner
In Hebrew, the number 28 spells “koach”, or strength. The strength of Aleh Foundation has always been its dedicated supporters, whom we have come to think of as family. With the help of our benevolent “family”, we have been able to send millions of dollars to Israel’s worthiest organizations and improve the lives of countless precious children and families. More than anything, we have instilled in our children the strength to overcome their obstacles and express their emotions through music art and therapy, living longer lives.

Gil & Zoya Shenhav
President, Power House Solutions
Young Leadership Award
Jack & Violet Harounian
Honorable Board
Susan Settenbrino
Campaign Chairsperson
Mike & Faranz Delafraz
Dinner Chairspersons
Dr. Howerd Feldman
Journal Chairperson
Peter Lichtenberg
Journal Chairperson
Randy & Shaine Setternbrino
Journal Chairperson
Dr. Jeff Tenenbaum
Tribute Chairperson
Naomi (Klass) Mauer
Jewish Press
Tribute Chairperson
Jay Arthur Goldberg
Committee Chairperson
Ricki Kudowitz
Committee Chairperson
Bob Kurshner
Committee Chairperson

At this year’s Gala we will recognize distinguished leaders and supporters of the Foundation. The Aleh Foundation State Leadership Award for 2012 will be presented to  New York State Senator, Dean G. Skelos, Majority Leader.  In November 2010, Senator Skelos was re-elected to his fourteenth term in the New York State Senate.   He now serves as the chamber’s Majority Leader, making him the highest-ranking Republican official in State government.

Before assuming the responsibilities of Majority Leader, he held the position of Senate Republican Leader. Senator Skelos was also elected by his colleagues to be Majority Leader of the Senate in June 2008.  In August 2008, Senator Skelos worked with the Governor and other legislative leaders to pass consensus legislation that reduced the size of the State’s budget deficit by more than $1 billion. As the author of Megan’s Law, Senator Skelos created the New York State Sex Offender Registry and authored numerous measures strengthening this powerful statute. Senator Skelos also wrote the law eliminating the unfair New York City “Commuter Tax” and, during his tenure as the Senate Aging Committee Chairman, the law creating the Elderly Pharmaceutical Insurance Coverage (“EPIC”) program. As the Chairman of the Senate’s NextGen Task Force, Senator Skelos wrote a comprehensive plan that resulted in the enactment of various tax credits and other incentives designed to promote the creation of high-paying jobs in the fields of high-technology and biotechnology. Moreover, Senator Skelos developed the landmark HELP program and passed the Long Island Workforce Housing Act to make homeownership more affordable for Long Islanders, the New York State Center for Excellence and Innovation in Homeland Security and, in 2002, the $71.5 million Long Island Biotech Investment and Job Creation Program. Prior to his election to the State Senate in 1984, Senator Skelos represented New York State’s 19th Assembly District for two years. He lives with his wife Gail in Rockville Centre and has a grown son, Adam. See more about the honorable senator Dean G. Skelos

The evening’s keynote speaker, Rabbi Joseph Potasnik, a popular guest and commentator on local and national radio and television programs, in which he couples enthusiasm for social issues with the wise insights of the Jewish tradition. He carries these unique skills over to his work at Congregation Mount Sinai in Brooklyn Heights, to his role as executive vice president of the New York Board of rabbis, and to his chaplaincy of the New York City Fire Department.

The 2012 Medical Leadership Award will be presented to Jeffrey H. Wisoff, M.D., Director, Pediatric Neurosurgery, NYU Langone Medical Center. 

Dr. Wisoff was one of the founding members of the Division of Pediatric Neurosurgery at NYU Langone Medical Center in 1984. His major clinical interests are in pediatric brain tumors, Chiari malformations, craniofacial disorders, and hydrocephalus. He is an author or co-author of over 150 scientific papers or chapters. Dr. Wisoff is senior member of the national Children's Oncology Group where he has served as cochairman of the Neurosurgery Committee and a senior member of the Brain Tumor Strategy Committee. He is the chair of the COG Low-grade Astrocytoma Protocol, a prospective, international study of the surgical treatment of over 700 children with low-grade pediatric brain tumors. Dr. Wisoff is the past chairman and an officer of the Joint Section of Pediatric Neurosurgery of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons and Congress of Neurological Surgeons and is a member of the American Society of Pediatric Neurosurgery and the International Society for Pediatric Neurosurgery. He also serves on the medical advisory board of the Children's Brain Tumor Foundation and the Hydrocephalus Association.

The Humanitarian Award will be presented to Andrew & Galina Zaretzky, supporters and friends of the Foundation. Jack & Violet Harounian, Susan Dee Settenbrino, Dr. Jeffrey Tenenbaum, Dr. Howard Feldman, Randy Settenbrino, Bob Kurshner, Ricki Kudowitz and Jay Arthur Goldberg will also serve on the Dinner and Journal committees. We look forward to the next 28 years with anticipation and the confidence that, with your help, we can exceed what we have accomplished in the first 28 years.

Please follow updates on our website at or call the headquarters at 800-317-ALEH for more information.
The ALEH FOUNDATION is located on 5317 13th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11219 • TEL: 718 -851-4596

The ALEH Foundation
newsletter highlights the great accomp....

Los Angeles Youth Rally at Temple Sina for Special Children in Israel organized by sisters Alexa and Rachel Khorshad. Read this amazing story.

Aleh Foundation works with the commitment and support of our volunteers. More than 500 people have already volunteered....

Copyright 2010 All Rights Reserved.
Home Events About Us Contact Us Donate Estates & Grants
Site Design: SmartWeb